Citrus hystrix DC.

Famille: Rutaceae

Noms commun: Caffir lime, Kaffir lime, Leech lime, Porcupine orange, Rough lemon, Thai Bai Makrut, Wart lime, Wild lime.

Vernacular namesBurmese: Shauk Cho, Shouk-Pote, Shauk Nu. Chinese: Ma Feng Gan, Mao Li Qiu Si Ku Cheng. Czech: Kaffir citrus. Danish: Kaffir lime. Dutch: Limoenblaadjes, Indonesische citroenboom, Kaffir limoen, Djeroek Poeroet. Finnish: Kaffir Limetti. French: Combava. German: Indische Zitrone, Kaffir limette, Makrut limette. Hungarian: Kaffircitrom. India (Tamil): Kolumichai. Indonesia: Juuk Purut. Japanese: Bai Makkuruu, Kobu Mikan. Malaysia: Limau Purut, Limau Hantu. Philippines: Kabog, Kamuntai. Spanish: Naranja Puerco-Espin, Hojas de lima Cafre, Lima Kaffir. Swedish: Kafirlime. Thailand: Bai makrut, Luuk makrut,

L'ORIGINE

DU COMBAVA

Les combava ( C. hystrix ) sont des agrumes épineux qui atteignent environ 10 m. de hauteur. Ils ont des feuilles en forme de sablier qui sont très aromatiques. Le fruit est de la taille d'une balle de golf et verruqueux. Il se récolte vert, lorsqu'il est jaune on l'utilise pour le jus.

 

Histoire

Le combava (Citrus hystrix de Candolle) est un agrume originaire de l'archipel Malais, que Pierre Poivre a introduit à l'ile Maurice (alors française) vers 1770. Des plantes ont été ramenées du Timor à Paris par les naturalistes de l' expédition de Nicolas Baudin , et cultivées en région parisienne et en Italie. De Candolle, professeur à Montpellier, le baptisa Cistrus hystrix ("épineux") en 1812. D'où le nom de  Citronnier Hérisson qui lui fut donné au début du XIXe siècle.

En même temps, il était connu sous le nom de " lime des orfèvres " car le jus était utilisé en Inde pour nettoyer les bijoux. Risso ajoute qu'il a également été utilisé comme savon à lessive, comme haies "impénétrables" et que son fruit confit est excellent.

Les Anglais trouvent le combava cultivé en Inde, mais la description donnée par William Roxburgh n'est pas précise, il l'appelle la lime douce des Moluques. Le mot anglais " kaffir lime " était peu mentionné avant la fin du XXe siècle. En 1914,  A Handbook of Tropical Gardening and Planting, de Hugh F. Macmillan mentionne le «Kaffir Lime» de Ceylan, presque de la taille d'un citron, avec une peau verruqueuse et grossière ». Mais c'est dans les années 1980, avec la découverte de  la cuisine thaïlandaise que les Kaffir lime leaves apparaissent en anglais (William Crawford, Kamolmal Pootaraksa -Penguin Publishing, 1986 - Thai Home-Cooking from Kamolmal's Kitchen).

Il est parfois appelé Papeda de Maurice ou combava de la Réunion , par la FAO. En français, le mot combava est utilisé sporadiquement depuis le début du XIXe siècle et régulièrement depuis les années 1960. Le combava est connu via la cuisine des îles de la Réunion, Maurice et Mayotte. Il est indispensable au Rougail , un plat (à base de fruits verts, tomates et piments) de la Réunion qui est mentionné dès 1869.

En 1951, la Revue agricole de la Réunion indique qu'il existe dans certains vieux vergers de la côte au vent Citrus hystrix D C., une espèce connue sous le nom de combava, elle se rencontre presque partout entre 0 et 500 m. d'altitude. «La peau très amère est parfois utilisée dans le Rougail». Et en 1980 Jean François Sam-Long écrit que l'écorce et les feuilles parfumées du combava font partie de la recette du rougail aux tomates. Ce n'est qu'au XXIe siècle que le combava est lié à la cuisine thaïlandaise dans des sources écrites françaises. Seule la feuille  est utilisée dans la cuisine des pays d'Asie du sud est.

    ©2020 by Kaffir Lime Leaves. Proudly created with Wix.com

Citrus hystrix DC.

Family: Rutaceae

Common names: Caffir lime, Kaffir lime, Leech lime, Porcupine orange, Rough lemon, Thai Bai Makrut, Wart lime, Wild lime.

Vernacular namesBurmese: Shauk Cho, Shouk-Pote, Shauk Nu. Chinese: Ma Feng Gan, Mao Li Qiu Si Ku Cheng. Czech: Kaffir citrus. Danish: Kaffir lime.  DutchLimoenblaadjes,  Indonesische citroenboom, Kaffir limoen, Djeroek Poeroet. Finnish: Kaffir Limetti. French: Combava. German: Indische Zitrone, Kaffir limette, Makrut limette. Hungarian: Kaffircitrom. India (Tamil): Kolumichai. Indonesia: Juuk Purut. Japanese: Bai Makkuruu, Kobu Mikan. Malaysia: Limau Purut, Limau Hantu. Philippines: Kabog, Kamuntai. Spanish: Naranja Puerco-Espin, Hojas de lima Cafre, Lima Kaffir. Swedish: Kafirlime. Thailand: Bai makrut, Luuk makrut,

THE ORIGIN

OF THE KAFFIR LIME

Kaffir limes trees (C. hystrix) are thorny citrus trees that grow to about 10 m. They have very aromatic hourglass shaped leaves. The fruit is golf ball size and warty, best picked green, it is over-ripe when yellow. 

 

History

The kaffir lime (Citrus hystrix de Candolle) is a citrus native to the Malaysian archipelago, that Pierre Poivre introduced to Mauritius (then French) around 1770. Plants were brought back from Timor to Paris by the naturalists on Nicolas Baudin's expedition, and cultivated in the Paris region and in Italy. De Candolle, a professor in Montpellier named it Cirtus hystrix ("thorny") in 1812. Hence the name of Lemon Hedgehog given to it at the beginning of the 19th century.

At the same time it  was known as the "Silversmiths' lime" because the juice was used in India to clean jewelry. Risso adds that it was also used as laundry soap, as "impenetrable" hedges and that its candied fruit is excellent.

The English find the Kaffir lime cultivated in India, but the description given by William Roxburgh is not precise, he calls it the sweet lime of the Moluccas. The English word "kaffir lime" was little mentioned before the end of the 20th century. In 1914  A Handbook of Tropical Gardening and Planting, by Hugh F. Macmillan mentions Ceylon's "Kaffir Lime", almost the size of a lemon, with a warty and coarse skin ". But it was in the 1980s, with the discovery of Malaysian and Thai cuisines that the “Kaffir lime leaves (limau purut)” appear in English. (William Crawford, Kamolmal Pootaraksa -Penguin Publishing, 1986 - Thai Home-Cooking from Kamolmal's Kitchen).

It is sometimes called Mauritius Papeda or Reunion Combava, by the FAO. In French, the word Combava has been used sporadically since the beginning of the 19th century and regularly since the 1960s. The Combava is known via the cuisine of the Réunion, Maurice and  Mayotte islands. It is essential to Rougail, a dish (made with green fruit, tomatoes and chilis) from the Réunion that is mentioned as early as 1869.

In 1951, the Revue Agricole de la Réunion indicates that it exists in some old orchards on the windward coast. hystrix D C., a species known as Combava, occurs almost everywhere between 0 and 500 m above sea level.  “The very bitter peel are sometimes used in Rougail. » et en 1980 Jean François Sam-Long Writes that the peel and fragrant leaves of the Combava are part of the recipe for tomatoe Rougail. It is only in the 21st century that combava is linked to Thai cuisine in French written sources and then the leaf alone is used in cooking.